Throwback: The best of the best in Stuttgart

On Friday, 01 February 2019, this year's All Star Game of German Handball took place in the Porsche Arena Stuttgart. For the German National Team and the All Stars, who were chosen online by fans and coaches from the "stärkste Liga der Welt", the match in Stuttgart was the first appearance after the World Championships in Denmark and Germany.

Programm All Star Game 2019

As part of the All Star Game, the LIQUI MOLY HBL offers fans an entertaining supporting programme for young and old. In addition to the main game, which is played between the German National Team and an All Star selection of the DKB Handball Bundesliga, there is an attractive foreplay. Furthermore, there will be many mascots of the LIQUI MOLY HBL in the Stuttgart Porsche-Arena on this day. There will also be an autograph session with the players. All in all, visitors can look forward to a colourful handball day for the whole family.

16:00 h: Admission of spectators

16:20: A-Jugend-Bundesliga: TV Bittenfeld vs. FRISCH AUF! Göppingen

16:45 - 17:45: Autograph session with the All Stars

19:00: All Star Team vs. German National Team

In LIQUI MOLY HBL's All Star Game, the German men's national team plays against a selection of the best players from LIQUI MOLY HBL. This is made up of German and foreign players who compete in the clubs of the German House of Lords. While the German national team is nominated by the national coach, the All Stars field is made up of players who have previously been selected in an online election by the fans and coaches of the first league. Approximately 200,000 fans last took part in this election. The All Star Game has a great entertainment character. On the fringes of the family-friendly event, various honours are presented, such as for successes at world or European championships.


The All Star Team 2019


Mikael Appelgren (Rhein-Neckar Löwen)

Benjamin Buric (SG Flensburg-Handewitt)

Johannes Bitter (TVB 1898 Stuttgart)*

Left Wing:

Bjarki Mar Elisson (Füchse Berlin)**

Hampus Wanne (SG Flensburg-Handewitt)

Marcel Schiller (FRISCH AUF! Göppingen)*

Left Back:

Fabian van Olphen (TBV Lemgo Lippe)**

Nikola Bilyk (THW Kiel)

Jacob Holm (Füchse Berlin)**

Central Back:

Andy Schmid (Rhein-Neckar Löwen)

Michael Kraus (TVB 1898 Stuttgart)

Dalibor Doder (TSV GWD Minden)**

Right Back:

Holger Glandorf (SG Flensburg-Handewitt)

Alexander Petersson (Rhein-Neckar Löwen)

Albin Lagergren (SC Magdeburg)*

Right Win:

Marius Steinhauser (SG Flensburg-Handewitt)**

Robert Weber (SC Magdeburg)*

Timo Kastening (TSV Hannover-Burgdorf)**


Johannes Golla (SG Flensburg-Handewitt)

Zeljko Musa (SC Magdeburg)

Moritz Preuss (VfL Gummersbach)*


Nikolaj Jacobsen (Rhein-Neckar Löwen)

Maik Machulla (SG Flensburg-Handewitt)*


*= Player was nominated by the selection of the coaches.

**= Player joined the team due to injury.

The idea for a Handball-All Star Game was born in the year 2000. The All Star Game was supposed to end the Bundesliga season after the American model. Since 2000 the first three editions took place in Münster and received such a great response that from 2003 to 2005 they moved to the Volkswagen Halle in Braunschweig. From 2006 to 2010 the All Star Game took place in the Max-Schmeling-Halle in Berlin. The Arena Leipzig was the venue from 2011 to 2014. In 2015 the Arena Nürnberger Versicherung hosted the event for the first time before returning to Leipzig in 2017. In 2019, the popular LIQUI MOLY HBL event celebrated its premiere in the Porsche Arena in Stuttgart. The All Star Game is preferably awarded to cities with handball potential.